Ohio & Michigan's Oldest and Largest Latino / Hispanic Newspaper

Since 1989




    media kit    ad specs    classified ad rates    about us    contact us


40 nominated for Jefferson Awards


TOLEDO: Forty local residents have been nominated for Jefferson Awards, Joseph Zerbey IV, president and general manager of The Blade, has announced.


“People are nominated by their colleagues, family members, and friends because the good work they do is so impressive,” he said. “As our judges read through the nominations, they could not help but be moved by the selflessness of the candidates and their great impact on our community.”


This year’s nominees are: Linda Bayer, Kristopher Brickman, Oscar Bunch, Edith Calhoun, Chuck Campos, Patricia Crosby, Kim Cundick, Tom Dibling, Richard Eppstein, Jackie Frisch, Aaron Frisch, James Gee, Sally Goligoski, Viola Grzybowski, William Horvath, Jeanne Hufford, Annette Jensen, Karen Kaczmarek, Cindy Kirk, Daniel LaValley, Robert Lubell, Princess Matthews, Marcy McMahon, Jay Mirrow, Antoinette Moore, Denzel Moore, Phyllis Morton, Rachel Nijakowski, Tania O'Brien, Malika Payne, Martha Pituch, Patricia Presser, Michael Pudlicki, Emilio Ramírez, Bernard Scott, Robert Smith, Nicole Susdorf, Kamala Tamirisa, Stephen Taylor, Janet Trout, Mark Urrutia, and Jim Whitman.


The Jefferson Awards was founded in 1972 by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, Senator Robert Taft Jr., and Sam Beard to serve as an American Nobel prize for community and public service.  Past recipients have included: former president Jimmy Carter, Oprah Winfrey, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, and Ohio’s US Senator John Glenn.


Past local recipients include: Clara Schuer, Christa Adams, Tony Siebenick, Chrys Petersen, Duke Wheeler, William Niehous, Sam Szor, Fr. Donald Vettese, and Laneta Goings.


The nominations have been sent to the seven local Jefferson Awards judges. This year’s judges are: Thomas Backoff, Florence Buchanan, Tom Martin, Roger Parker, Judy Seibenick, Ford Weber, and Gary Willoughby. They will determine the finalists, and the four winners of this year’s Jefferson Awards. 


Ms. Buchanan noted, “This is very rewarding and difficult at the same time. All of the candidates deserve an award for their dedication and commitment to help others!  They have given of themselves, not for fortune or fame. “I have certainly learned a lot from these worthy candidates.”  


The names of the four winners will be announced at the Jefferson Awards Ceremony and Breakfast, to take place Thursday, March 13, 2014 at 7:30 a.m. at The Premier Banquet Hall at 4480 Heatherdowns Blvd. in Toledo. Tickets for the event are $15 each or a table of ten for $125. For information and tickets, go to: www.toledoblade.com/jeffersonawards.


Copyright © 1989 to 2014 by [LaPrensa Publications Inc.]. All rights reserved.
Revised: 02/11/14 05:57:48 -0800.




Web laprensa





«Tinta con sabor»     Ink with flavor!



Spanglish Weekly/Semanal

Your reliable source for current Latino news and Hispanic events with English and Spanish articles.
Contact us at [email protected] or call (419) 870-6565



Culturas Publication, Inc. d.b.a. La Prensa Newspaper

© Copyrighted by  Culturas Publication, Inc. 2012