Ohio & Michigan's Oldest and Largest Latino / Hispanic Newspaper

Since 1989




    media kit    ad specs    classified ad rates    about us    contact us


Owens Community College students inducted into Spring Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society


May 2013: Owens Community College students were recently recognized for their academic excellence and leadership within the community, earning membership into the Gamma Zeta Chapter of the Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society.


The Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society was founded at West Chester University of Pennsylvania in 1989 in response to the increasing need to acknowledge the continuing successes of students within the academic institution’s academic development program. Recognizing that students who share similar experiences could serve as models for others, founder Dr. Elbert Saddler proposed a Greek letter honor society. In 2001, Chi Alpha Epsilon received official endorsement from the National Association for Developmental Education. Today, there are over 150 chapters of the national honor society.


The honor society promotes continued high academic standards, fosters communication among its members and encourages community service and participation in academic support programs where individuals may serve as role models to entering students.


Selection criterion for acceptance into the honor society is based upon students achieving a 3.0 or higher cumulative grade point average for two consecutive full-time semesters or three-four part-time semesters. In addition, individuals must have taken at least one developmental education course at Owens. The College’s chapter was founded in April 2006.


The Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society student inductees for the 2013 Spring Semester are Sylvia Angel of Perrysburg (dental hygiene), Ibironke Badmus of Toledo (associate of science, general concentration), Ashley Benishek of Bowling Green (pre-sonography), Rachael Billau of Toledo (culinary arts), Laura Burrell of Holland (occupational therapy assistant), Tiffany Callahan  of Toledo (vascular sonography), Steven Campbell of Millbury (business management technology), Perry Catlin of Toledo (psychology), Edward Coker of Toledo (pre-medical imaging), Vickie Ferguson of Findlay (associate of science, general concentration), Nicole Fournier of Holland (pre-nursing), April Hager of Toledo (middle childhood education), Scott Hartzell of Oregon (business management technology), Ashley Helmke of Gibsonburg (marketing and sales technology), Kyle Hill of Pemberville (business management technology), Bradley Hooser of West Unity (economics and mathematics), Scott Johnson of Toledo (psychology), Aaron Kuns of Toledo (biomedical electronics), Lynne Long of Walbridge (office administration technology) and Ambre Martinez of Bowling Green (fine art).


Owens’ Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society student inductees also include Michelle Meiring of Metamora (dental hygiene), Samantha Moore of Maumee (criminal justice technology), Rebecca Nollendorfs of Walbridge (pre-pharmacy), Brooke Rehus of Findlay (accounting technology), Kelsi Reinhard of Findlay (occupational therapy assistant), Megan Rickard of Sandusky (diagnostic medical sonography), Kimberly Rogers of Toledo (medical office support), Eunice Russell of Woodville (early childhood education), Melissa Russell of Grand Rapids (associate of arts, general concentration), Asmaa Saleh of Toledo (English), Esther Sandoval of Toledo (accounting technology), Brandi Schimming of Martin (exercise science), Evan Shasteen of Perrysburg (business management technology), Sarah Soncrant of Northwood (accounting technology), Jeanie Spanyers of Luckey (environmental health and safety technology), Morgan Taylor of Walbridge (office administration technology), Dawn Thayer of Toledo (culinary arts), Jamie Verbryke of Perrysburg (pre-nursing), Claire Vroman of Findlay (pre-nursing), Ross Wentling of Carey (criminal justice technology), Jackie Wetmore of Northwood (medical assisting), Eileen Witter of Findlay (medical assisting) and Tiffany Young of Toledo (associate of science, general concentration).


Copyright © 1989 to 2013 by [LaPrensa Publications Inc.]. All rights reserved.
Revised: 06/18/13 20:36:24 -0700.




Web laprensa





«Tinta con sabor»     Ink with flavor!



Spanglish Weekly/Semanal

Your reliable source for current Latino news and Hispanic events with English and Spanish articles.
Contact us at [email protected] or call (419) 870-6565



Culturas Publication, Inc. d.b.a. La Prensa Newspaper

© Copyrighted by  Culturas Publication, Inc. 2012