Ohio & Michigan's Oldest and Largest Latino / Hispanic Newspaper

Since 1989




    media kit    ad specs    classified ad rates    about us    contact us


Letter to the Editor,


April 5, 2013


The Coalition for Hispanic/Latino Issues and Progress (CHIP) cordially invites the public to its semi-annual Candidates’ Forum and Roundtable, Wednesday, April 10, 2013, 6:30-8:30pm, at St Joseph Community Center, Gould Auditorium, 201 W. 21st Street, Lorain, 44052. Only candidates with primary election opposition are invited to participate. This year makes the 12th year that CHIP hosts this event, beginning it in the fall of 2001.


Over the years the Candidate Forum has evolved into the foremost candidate event in Lorain County. The event is unique in many ways, beginning with the fact that it is videotaped and broadcast over the Lorain County Community College Cable TV channel throughout Lorain County, giving the candidates maximum free exposure.


For many candidates, it is the first chance that voters get the chance to put together a name with a face. Some candidates feel that their appearance in the program was the reason for their election to office. In October 2010, the CHIP Candidate Forum was the only venue that hosted a debate between Congressman Betty Sutton and her opponent Tom Ganley.


WEOL radio 930AM tapes the proceedings for future broadcast prior to special election day on May 7, 2013.


CHIP was founded in 1984 as a non-partisan organization dedicated to promoting the advancement and well-being of the Lorain County Latino community. Membership is open to all. The Candidate Forum is performed as a service which CHIP provides to the entire Lorain County community, not just the Latino community.


We look forward to seeing you on April 10, 2013.




Joel Arredondo, President

The Coalition for Hispanic/Latino Issues and Progress



WEDNESDAY, April 10, 2013

El Centro de Servicios Sociales Inc.

LORAIN, OH 44052



The Coalition of Hispanic/Latino Issues and Progress (CHIP) invites all Lorain County contested primary election candidates to attend and participate in this annual Forum and Roundtable. Lorain City Schools will tape the event and along with Lorain County Community College, will broadcast the event on their respective networks one week prior to the primary.  The Forum will be moderated by Mr. David Arredondo and Ms. Mary Santiago, co-chairs of the CHIP Political Action Committee.


The candidates will each have 2 minutes for an opening statement. Next, they will be asked 2-3 questions by the moderators and have one minute answers. They will conclude with a 1 minute statement. The candidates will receive a list of possible questions upon arrival the evening of the Forum.  



6:30-6:35           Welcome       Joel Arredondo, CHIP President


6:35-6:45          Amherst City Treasurer (Elect 1)

Brian Dembinski (D) – 764 Tarry Ln, Amherst, OH 44001 

Pamela Tremaine (D) – 53 Baldwin Ct, Amherst, OH 44001 


 6:45-6:55            Amherst City 1st Ward Council (Elect 1)


H. Travis Goudy (R) – 439 Candy Ln, Amherst, OH 44001 

Michael Ireland (R) – 429 Country Walk, Amherst, OH 44001 


6:55-7:00           Elyria City Council at Large (Elect 4)

Thomas G. Callahan (D) – 153 Elma Dr, Elyria, OH 44035 

Bill Grace (D) – 618 Calann Dr, Elyria, OH 44035 Filed 

Michael J. Lotko, III (D) – 121 Bridgeport Dr, Elyria, OH 44035 

Chuck Martin (D) – 717 Kent Cir, Elyria, OH 44035 Filed 

Victor F. Stewart, III (D) – 136 Barrington Ct, Elyria, OH 44035 


7:00-7:05           Lorain City Treasurer (Elect 1)

Anthony Haslage (D) – 2219 E. 30th St, Lorain, OH 44055 

Karen Shawver (D) – 5812 Plymouth Dr, Lorain, OH 44053 


7:05-7:15           Lorain City Council at Large (Elect 3)

Daniel Given (D) – 4865 Eagles Nest Dr, Lorain, OH 44053 

Joseph F. Koziura (D) – 5308 Gargasz Dr, Lorain, OH 44053 

Anne M. Molnar (D) – 2306 East 31st St, Lorain, OH 44055 


7:15-7:25           Lorain City Council at Large

Christopher P. Olejko (D) – 2481 S. Jefferson Blvd, Lorain, OH 44052 

Mark Provenza (D) – 2550 Broadway Ave, Lorain, OH 44052 

Tony Richardson (D) – 4753 Oak Point Rd. Apt 104, Lorain, OH 44053 


7:25-7:40           Lorain City Council Ward 2 (Elect 1)

Andy Drwal (D) – 205 Louisiana Ave, Lorain, OH 44052 

Dennis Flores (D) – 903 W. 18th St, Lorain, OH 44052 


7:40-7:50           Lorain City Council Ward 6 (Elect 1)

Martin Leibas (D) – 2047 E. 30th St, Lorain, OH 44055 

Richard Lucente (D) – 4204 Riverview Ln, Lorain, OH 44055 


7:50-8:00           Lorain City Council Ward 7 (Elect 1)

Mike Beatty (D) – 1335 W 5th St., Lorain, OH 44052 

Joe Faga (D) – 4295 Shore Dr. Lorain, OH 44053 


8:00-8:10           North Ridgeville City Council at Large (Elect 3)

Jerry Armstrong (D) – 34687 Plantation Pl. N. Ridgeville, OH 44039 

Bob Chapek (D) – 5564 Main Ave, N. Ridgeville, OH 

Jim Leonard (D) – 6399 Avon Belden Rd., N. Ridgeville, OH 44039 

Alan L. Simmons (D) – 6399 Avon Belden Rd., N. Ridgeville, OH 44039 


8:10-8:20           North Ridgeville City Council at Large

Bernadine Butkowski (R) – 36341 Behm Rd., N. Ridgeville, OH 44039 

Kevin Corcoran (R) – 32563 Bluffstone Cir, N. Ridgeville, OH 44039 

Martin E. DeVries (R) – 6056 Paula Blvd, N.Ridgeville, OH 44039 

Timothy F. Gates (R) – 5336 Broad Blvd, N. Ridgeville, OH 44039 

Roseanne Johnson (R) – 33581 Bainbridge Rd. N Ridgeville, OH 44039 


The following candidates will have 2 minutes to speak about their Issue. They will NOT be asked any questions.


8:20-8:30   Lorain County Issues 1, Mental Retardation; 2. Transit System;3. Drug Task Force


Closing Statement                                             Joel  Arredondo   

Copyright © 1989 to 2013 by [LaPrensa Publications Inc.]. All rights reserved.
Revised: 04/09/13 19:02:51 -0700.




Web laprensa





«Tinta con sabor»     Ink with flavor!



Spanglish Weekly/Semanal

Your reliable source for current Latino news and Hispanic events with English and Spanish articles.
Contact us at [email protected] or call (419) 870-6565



Culturas Publication, Inc. d.b.a. La Prensa Newspaper

© Copyrighted by  Culturas Publication, Inc. 2012