Ohio & Michigan's Oldest and Largest Latino / Hispanic Newspaper

Since 1989




    media kit    ad specs    classified ad rates    about us    contact us


Top 30 Photographs Chosen for Facebook “Pride of Toledo” Photo Exhibition

The Toledo Museum of Art has announced the top 30 winners of the Facebook “Pride of Toledo” Photography Contest whose submissions will be exhibited at the Museum this fall.

Out of 135 entrants and more than 300 photographs submitted, the winning entries were chosen by a panel of judges with four criteria in mind: public votes, representation of the theme, quality of the entry and overall composition.

The winning photographs were printed, framed and will be shown Sept. 9Nov. 13 in the Community Gallery at the Museum. A digital kiosk will display all of the images submitted. Admission to both the exhibition and Museum is free.

On the opening night of the show, the Museum will host a public reception at 6:30 p.m. for the winners, their families and guests, and other entrants. Best of show awards will be presented at that time.

“The goal of the exhibition is to celebrate Toledo and its culture, architecture, history and iconic images while also supporting artists in the community,” said Jennifer Bandeen, manager of the Community Galleries at the Museum.

The list of artists along with the name of their photograph selected for the Facebook “Pride of Toledo” Photo Exhibition is as follows:

Preston Stevenson (Sleeping City)

Jeff Johnson (Scottwood & Monroe)

Mary Sue Timar (Curved Elegance)

Michelle Davis (Remembering Homelessness)

Joshua Ball (Fire in the Sky)

Karen Heidelberg Murphy (Good Night Toledo)

Steven Smith (High Level Sunset)

Bruce Works (Jackson Pollack)

Jason Stanek (It Was Once Called COSI)

Peter Covrett (The Glass City)

Reva Martin (One March Day)

Tom Sheehan (Cool)

Jason Duffield (Museum)

Stephen Doughten (Zoo)

James Verbosky (The End of a Great Day)

Craig Roth (Pearson Park)

Jennifer Pasztor (Packos at the Park)

David Kontak (Old Times New Times)

Mike Basista (Refining)

Victoria Rak (Weimaraner)

Kristine De Leon (Heading Home)

Kenneth McFarlan (Ft. Industry Square)

D. Davidson (Observing the Observatory)

Michael Young (Anticipation)

David Kolbush (Pioneer Cabin)

Beck Gambill (The Dog)

Erin Amborski (At the Ballpark)

Erin Stratidakis (Boyer)


Second Chance Winners:

Lonn Dugan (On the River)

Michael Melchiorre (Toledo Firefighter)

We reserve the right to delete or edit any comments we find inappropriate.
Copyright © 1989 to 2011 by [LaPrensa Publications Inc.]. All rights reserved.
Revised: 08/30/11 06:24:46 -0700.





Web laprensa





«Tinta con sabor»     Ink with flavor!



Spanglish Weekly/Semanal

Your reliable source for current Latino news and Hispanic events with English and Spanish articles.
Contact us at [email protected] or call (419) 870-6565



Culturas Publication, Inc. d.b.a. La Prensa Newspaper

© Copyrighted by  Culturas Publication, Inc. 2010