Ohio & Michigan's Oldest and Largest Latino / Hispanic Newspaper

Since 1989




    media kit    ad specs    classified ad rates    about us    contact us


Owens Community College Board of Trustees Awards 2010 Academic Excellence Scholarships

PERRYSBURG TOWNSHIP, OH - Area high school seniors recently were
honored by Owens Community College’s Board of Trustees for their
outstanding achievements, receiving thousands of dollars in new
scholarships through the Trustees’ Academic Excellence Scholarship

“Owens Community College is honored to recognize the Trustees’
Academic Excellence scholarship recipients for their dedication to
academic excellence and outstanding service to their respective schools
and communities,” said Dee Talmage, Owens Chair of the Board of
Trustees. “On behalf of the Board of Trustees, I would like to commend
them on their accomplishments and welcome them to Owens Community

The Academic Excellence Scholarship Program was created in 1998 by
Owens’ Board of Trustees to recognize the outstanding achievements of
graduating high school seniors. Each recipient will receive a $2,000
two-year scholarship.

The scholarship is available for four consecutive semesters with
applicants being enrolled full-time and pursuing an associate’s degree
at the College, as well as maintaining a 3.0 grade point average each
semester. Since its creation more than a decade ago, the Trustees’
Academic Excellence Scholarship Program has provided over $1.2 million
in scholarships to 635 students.

Students receiving a Trustees’ Academic Excellence Scholarship and
their intended course of study at Owens include:

●    Daniel Jones of Whitehouse, an Anthony Wayne High School
graduate (business management)
●    Jacob Spaun of Findlay, a Liberty-Benton High School graduate
(electrical/electronics engineering technology)
●    Mallie Grim of Arcadia, an Arcadia High School graduate
(adolescence education)
●    Mary Jo Ackerman of Rudolph, a Bowling Green High School
graduate (physical therapist assistant)
●    Alyssa Pelish of Toledo, a Central Catholic High School graduate
(dental hygiene)
●    Hallie Thompson of Oregon, a Clay High School graduate (business
●    Ashley Achten of Rawson, a Cory-Rawson High School graduate
●    Amanda Vogel of Perrysburg, an Eastwood High School graduate
●    Zachary Steinman of Jerry City, an Elmwood High School graduate
(commercial art technology)
●    Michael Fagan of Findlay, a Findlay Digital Academy graduate
●    Amanda Gray of Findlay, a Findlay High School graduate
(associate of arts, general concentration)
●    Jeffrey Giesige of Holgate, a Four County Career Center graduate
(John Deere consumer and commercial equipment)
●    Tyrone Hall Jr. of Toledo, a Glass City Academy graduate
●    Ashley Miller of Fostoria, a Hopewell-Loudon High School
graduate (biology)
●    Jessica Knallay of Bradner, a Lakota High School graduate
(physical therapist assistant)
●    Calvin Haselman of Leipsic, a Leipsic High School graduate
●    Kylee Pierce of Maumee, a Maumee High School graduate (physical
therapist assistant)
●    Erin Amstutz of Findlay, a Millstream Career and Technology
Center graduate (early childhood education)
●    Caitlyn Cook of Haskins, a Monclova Christian Academy graduate
(music performance/education)
●    Jacob Flores of North Baltimore, a North Baltimore High School
graduate (information systems)
●    Kara McCloskey of Oak Harbor, an Oak Harbor High School graduate
(social work)
●    Courtney Selders of Grand Rapids, an Otsego High School graduate
(middle childhood education)
●    Sammy Schwandner of Elmore, a Woodmore High School graduate
(criminal justice technology)
●    Michelle Lewis of Perrysburg, a Perrysburg High School graduate
●    Queen Davis of Toledo, a Phoenix Academy graduate (pre-nursing)
●    Iesha Watkins of Toledo, a Polly Fox Academy graduate (criminal
justice technology)
●    Brittney Harris of Toledo, a Rogers High School graduate
(multi-age education)
●    Meghan Brewer of Rossford, a Rossford High School graduate
●    Kate Hubbard of Holland, a Springfield High School graduate
(dental hygiene)
●    Jayme Wietrzykowski of Toledo, a Start High School graduate
(occupational therapy assistant)
●    Alan Kluczynski of Sylvania, a Southview High School graduate
(architectural engineering technology)
●    Kelsi Reinhard of Tiffin, a Columbian High School graduate
(occupational therapy assistant)
●    Rachel Dunn of Toledo, a Toledo Christian School graduate
(dental hygiene)
●    Velani Tucker of Toledo, a Toledo School for the Arts graduate
●    Kaylee Ruckstuhl of Vanlue, a Vanlue High School graduate
●    Hallandra Johnson of Toledo, a Waite High School graduate
(information systems)
●    Allison Hessey of Toledo, a Whitmer High School graduate
(pre-physical therapist assistant)
●    Elizabeth Gardyza of Northwood, a Northwood High School graduate

We reserve the right to delete or edit any comments we find inappropriate.
Copyright © 2010 by [LaPrensa Newspaper]. All rights reserved.
Revised: 07/23/12 11:56:32 -0700.





Web laprensa





«Tinta con sabor»     Ink with flavor!



Spanglish Weekly/Semanal

Your reliable source for current Latino news and Hispanic events with English and Spanish articles.
Contact us at [email protected] or call (419) 870-6565



Culturas Publication, Inc. d.b.a. La Prensa Newspaper

© Copyrighted by  Culturas Publication, Inc. 2010