Ohio & Michigan's Oldest and Largest Latino Newspaper

Since 1989




    media kit    ad specs    classified ad rates    about us    contact us


Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority recognize new board members

Oct. 17, 2008: The Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority Board of Directors will have four new board members at the next Port Authority Board Meeting on October 23, 2008.

The new members are: Jerry Chabler, Bernard “Pete” Culp, Dr. Lloyd A. Jacobs, and John S. Szuch.  The new board members replace outgoing directors Bruce Baumhower, Doni Miller, Dennis C. Duffey, and Dr. Jeri A. Milstead.

The Port Authority Board of Director appointments come from the city of Toledo and the Lucas County Commissioners. Six of the Port Authority’s 13 board members are appointed by the county commissioners, six are appointed by the city of Toledo, and one is a joint city-county appointment.

“The Port Authority Board of Directors is a hard working unit of volunteers. Our outgoing board members served diligently and dedicated countless hours to the mission of the Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority and, on behalf of the board, I gratefully acknowledge their leadership and service,” said William J. Carroll, Chairman, Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority Board of Directors. “We look forward to the contributions that our four new members will bring to the board.”

Appointed by the city of Toledo, Jerry Chabler of Sylvania , Ohio , was first appointed to the Port Authority board of directors in 1996 and was reappointed in 2001. Chabler was also appointed by Governor Ted Strickland to serve on the Ohio State Racing Commission in April, 2007.

Appointed by the city of Toledo, Bernard “Pete” Culp is the Director of Planning and Development for the Economic Opportunity Planning Association of Greater Toledo.

Appointed by the Lucas County Commissioners, Dr. Lloyd A. Jacobs is the president of the University of Toledo. Prior to coming to Toledo, Dr. Jacobs was chief operating officer of the University of Michigan Health System, one of the largest systems in the country, and senior associate dean for clinical affairs at the University of Michigan Medical School.

Appointed by the County, John S. Szuch is the Chairman of Fifth Third Bank of Northwestern Ohio. Szuch was a co-founder and Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Capital Bank, N.A until it merged with Fifth Third Bancorp in 2001. Szuch is a Trustee of The University of Toledo and serves in leadership or trustee positions for numerous organizations in the region.

The Lucas County Commissioners also reappointed developer A. Bailey Stanbery to the board of directors.






Web laprensa





«Tinta con sabor»     Ink with flavor!



Spanglish Weekly/Semanal

Your reliable source for current Latino news and events with English and Spanish articles.
Contact us at [email protected] or call (419) 870-6565



Culturas Publication, Inc. d.b.a. La Prensa Newspaper

© Copyrighted by  Culturas Publication, Inc. 2008