Ohio & Michigan's Oldest and Largest Latino Newspaper

Since 1989




    media kit    ad specs    classified ad rates    about us    contact us


2008 Ruth Blank Venner essay contest winners announced


The Toledo-Lucas County Public Library has released the winners of the 2008 Ruth Blank Venner Essay Contest: Planet Earth – 2050 My Vision of the Future. This year’s essay contest saw 511 total entries.


The annual contest asked youth in grade levels Kindergarten through 12th grade to write an essay based on the theme, Planet Earth: 2050 My Vision of the Future. Entrants were asked to use their imagination to look into the future . . . all the way to the year 2050!


Winners were given 1st, 2nd and 3rd place prizes, in addition to several honorable mentions for each grade category – K-2, 3-5, 6-8, and  9-12.


First-place prize winners were awarded $200, second $100, third $50 and honorable mentions $25.


The late Ruth Blank Venner was a past president of the Friends of the Library and an active member.  Mrs. Venner, who died in 1996, was married 44 years to the well-known television news anchor Frank Venner.  Mrs. Venner’s brother Leon W. Blank, as a way to honor his sister’s memory and to promote reading among youth, established the Ruth Blank Venner Memorial Project of the Friends of the Library beginning in 1996.


Ruth Blank Venner Essay Contest Winners 2008:

Grades K-2

First place:                    Anthony R. Errico, Jr.

Second place:               Aleena Maheny

Third place:                   Luke Beach

Honorable mention:       Zeke Favor

                                    Taylor Gozdowski

                                    Michael Helgrin

                                    Kelsey Lewandowski

                                    Joudet Orra

                                    Corinne Schroeder


Grades 3-5

First place:                    David Williams

Second place:               Derek Branyan

Third place:                   Monica Zeiler

Honorable mention:       Luke Dangler

                                    Mathew Haueter

                                    Justin Heck

                                    Dawson Reinhart

                                    Erin Schaefer

                                    Frank Szmania


Grades 6-8

First place:                    Sarina Mathis

Second place:               Maddie Rutter

Third place:                   Alex Getz

Honorable mention:       Megan Lewinski

                                    Jenny Miller

                                    Carmen Reno

                                    Emma Waters


Grades 9-12

First place:                    Aaron Matesz

Second place:               Angela Li

Third place:                   Tabor Wardelman

Honorable mention:       Matthew Cason

                                    Feliza Casano

                                    Nathan Alan Cousino

                                    Alie Fretti

                                    Monica Klonowski








Web laprensa





«Tinta con sabor»     Ink with flavor!



Spanglish Weekly/Semanal

Your reliable source for current Latino news and events with English and Spanish articles.
Contact us at [email protected] or call (419) 870-6565



Culturas Publication, Inc. d.b.a. La Prensa Newspaper

© Copyrighted by  Culturas Publication, Inc. 2008