Ohio & Michigan's Oldest and Largest Latino Newspaper

Since 1989




    media kit    ad specs    classified ad rates    about us    contact us


Let Them Eat Ethanol

CLEVELAND: U.S. Congressman Nick J. Rahall, II of West Virginia (D-3), who serves as the chairman of the Committee on Natural Resources and vice chairman of the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, will highlight the difficulties in developing a comprehensive energy plan in an era of increased awareness of climate change and growing concern about rising energy prices at noon on Friday, May 23, 2008, at The City Club of Cleveland.

For more than 30 years, Rahall has been a Congressional leader on mining-related issues and a veteran of every federal highway bill since coming to Congress, including as a key architect in the formulation of the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century. He is also an outspoken advocate for military veterans, access to affordable healthcare and education, and the protection of U.S. lands.

Rahall is the author of the 1978 legislation that established the New River Gorge National River as a unit of the National Park System, gained enactment of legislation to designate the Gauley River National Recreation Area and the Bluestone National Scenic River, and established the National Coal Heritage Area in southern West Virginia.

Recently, Rahall championed the House passage of the American Horse Slaughter Prevention Act, was leader in the effort to end royalty holidays and giveaways to big oil and gas companies, and has worked to promote the use of clean coal technologies, introducing the Coal to Liquid Fuel Energy Act of 2006.

Rahall is the recipient of numerous awards for his work to protect the environment, including the 1996 Keeper of the Flame Award presented by Interior Secretary Bruce Babbitt, 1990 Friend of the Earth Award, Sierra Club’s 1988 Seneca Award for Outstanding Environmental Stewardship, American River's 1988 River Conservation Award, and Ansel Adams Award from the Wilderness Society in 2004.

Tickets are $18 for members and $30 for non-members. Lunch is included. They can be purchased by calling The City Club at 216.621.0082 or visiting the website at www.cityclub.org.



Land Banks: Investing in Our Neighborhoods

Jim Rokakis, Cuyahoga County Treasurer, will discuss a proposed Ohio bill to land bank foreclosed properties at noon on Wednesday, May 28, 2008, at The City Club of Cleveland.

Rokakis took office as treasurer in March 1997 after serving for more than 19 years on Cleveland City Council, the last seven as chairman of the finance committee. He has brought sweeping reform to the treasurer's office, overhauling county property tax collection system and improving the county’s investment function. He was recognized as having the best-performing portfolio among Ohio County Treasurer’s.

Rokakis also worked successfully to pass House Bill 371 that allows county treasurers in Ohio’s largest counties to sell their property tax liens to private entities, spearheaded House Bill 294 to streamline the foreclosure process for abandoned properties, and was instrumental in creating Cuyahoga County’s “Don’t Borrow Trouble” foreclosure prevention program.

In 2007, Rokakis received the NeighborWorks America Local Government Service Award and the Leadership in Social Justice Award from Greater Cleveland Community Shares, and was named the County Leader of the Year by American City and County Magazine.

Tickets for this City Club Special Program are $15 for members and $25 for non-members. Lunch is included. Reservations are required at least 24 hours in advance of the event. They can be purchased by calling The City Club at 216.621.0082 or visiting the website at www.cityclub.org.






Web laprensa





«Tinta con sabor»     Ink with flavor!



Spanglish Weekly/Semanal

Your reliable source for current Latino news and events with English and Spanish articles.
Contact us at [email protected] or call (419) 870-6565



Culturas Publication, Inc. d.b.a. La Prensa Newspaper

© Copyrighted by  Culturas Publication, Inc. 2008