Ohio & Michigan's Oldest and Largest Latino Newspaper

Since 1989




    media kit    ad specs    classified ad rates    about us    contact us


La Prensa Home

Upcoming Events

La Prensa Photos

La Prensa Links

LatinoMix Radio

La Prensa Scholarships

Directory of Latino Businesses and Services

La Prensa Obituaries

La Prensa Classifieds

Past La Prensa Stories

Submit a Letter to the Editor

La Liga de Las Americas

TMA nominees include Michigan’s Megan Leyva

On Feb. 24, the top five TMA nominees were posted at its Website at www.tejanomusicawards.com for the 27th Annual Tejano Music Awards, scheduled for March 10, 2007 at the Scottish Rite Temple Auditorium in San Antonio, Texas.

Michigan diva Megan Leyva was nominated in four categories—Female Vocalist of the Year, Entertainer of the Year, Crossover Song of the Year, and Most Promising Band. 

Ms. Leyva informed La Prensa, “It’s truly amazing; I feel really blessed to have come this far; couldn’t have done it without God, my family, and all the fans that voted. I was remembering the first year I ever attended the Awards in 2001 and how overwhelmed I felt when learning that I would be presenting the Male Vocalist award. Now that I am actually among the nominees, it’s just a great feeling.”

Megan Leyva

Chente Barrera, who was a recent visitor to Toledo, garnered 5 nominations; Elida Reyna, who was the headliner at UT’s LSU annual scholarship baile, was nominated twice as a band and thrice as part of Las 3 Divas. 

The categories/nominees are:
Entertainer of the Year
Megan Leyva - Megan Leyva
Chente Barrera - Chente Barrera Y Taconazo
Jay Pérez - Jay Pérez
Jessica and Vanessa Mailto - Las Florecitas
Sunny Sauceda - Sunny Sauceda

Female Vocalist of the Year
Megan Leyva - Megan Leyva
Elida Reyna - Elida Reyna
Rebecca Valadez - Rebecca Valadez
Shelly Lares - Shelly Lares
Vanessa Mailto - Las Florecitas

Male Vocalist of the Year
Chente Barrera - Chente Barrera Y Taconazo
Eddie González - Eddie González y Natural
Jay Pérez - Jay Pérez
Jimmy González - Jimmy González y Mazz
Ram Herrera - Ram Herrera and the Outlaw Band

Song of the Year
Chente Barrera Y Taconazo - Paloma, Piquito De Oro
Las 3 Divas - Slip 'N' Slide
Bob Gallarza Presents Jimmy Edward - Mi Lupita
Gary Hobbs - Por Ti
Jimmy González y Mazz - Corazón de Fiero

Album of the Year – Tejano
Chente Barrera y Taconazo - Sigue El Taconazo

Elida Reyna

Bob Gallarza Presents Jimmy Edward – It’s Alright
Jay Pérez - All of Me
Las Florecitas - Las Gotas De Rocio
Solido - Nuestro Amor

Album of the Year – Conjunto
Elida Reyna - Mis Raizes
La Tropa F - Nuestras Voces
Los Desperadoz - Whatever it Takes
Los García Brothers - Abrazame
The Hometown Boys - La Traicionera

Crossover Song of the Year
Las 3 Divas - Slip 'N' Slide
Megan Leyva - Alone
Jay Pérez – You’re Still A Young Man
Jimmy González y Mazz - No Te Vayas Baby
Rebecca Valadez - Hablame

Most Promising Band of the Year
Megan Leyva
Sunny Sauceda
La Conquista
Las Florecitas
Los Amables

Showband of the Year
Las 3 Divas
Sunny Sauceda
Las Florecitas
Los García Brothers
Ram Herrera and The Outlaw Band

Vocal Duo of the Year
Chente Barrera & Marcos Hernández - Paloma, Piquito de Oro
Joe Posado & Leslie Lugo - Caen Porque Caen
Jessica and Vanessa Mailto - No Lastimes Más
Jimmy González & Freddie Martínez - Old School Memories
Jimmy González & Kacy Zavala - No Te Vayas Baby

Chente Berrera







Web laprensa





«Tinta con sabor»     Ink with flavor!



Spanglish Weekly/Semanal

Your reliable source for current Latino news and events providing English and Spanish articles


Culturas Publication, Inc. d.b.a. La Prensa Newspaper

© Copyrighted by  Culturas Publication, Inc. 2005