Ohio & Michigan's Oldest and Largest Latino Newspaper

Since 1989




    media kit    ad rates    classified ad rates    about us    contact us


La Prensa Home

Upcoming Events

La Prensa Photos

La Prensa Links

LatinoMix Radio

La Prensa Scholarships

Directory of Latino Businesses and Services

La Prensa Obituaries

La Prensa Classifieds

Past La Prensa Stories

Submit a Letter to the Editor

La Liga de Las Americas

FLOC hosts convention, march, rally, and banquet with Cisneros, Sept. 30


The Farm Labor Organizing Committee (FLOC) will host its 10th constitutional convention at SeaGate Centre this Saturday, Sept. 30 in downtown Toledo. FLOC will also be celebrating its 20th anniversary of the Campbell Soup Victory.


Issues to be dealt with include immigration reform, HB 6061, HB 4437, Ohio HB 654, and other harsh immigration bills introduced and pushed by primarily Republican lawmakers.

FLOC President Baldemar Velásquez welcomes Toledo Zoo Exec-Director Dr. Anne Baker to FLOC gathering last week in preparation for this Saturday’s FLOC convention, march, and banquet.


Registration is at 7:00AM with the convention commencing at 9:00AM. John Sweeney, President of the AFL-CIO, will be in attendance according to Baldemar Velásquez, FLOC’s president.


A Victory March from SeaGate (401 Jefferson Ave.) to the Lucas County Courthouse on Adams Street will follow the convention, scheduled for 4:30PM, with the march’s assembly commencing at 4:00PM. The march will include Latino veterans, some 500 convention delegates, and other supporters of FLOC and immigration reform.

A rally will take place from 5:00-6:00PM on the south side of the Courthouse.


A FLOC Victory Banquet begins at 7:00PM at SeaGate, with guest speaker Sandra Cisneros.





Web laprensa





«Tinta con sabor»     Ink with flavor!



Spanglish Weekly/Semanal

Your reliable source for current Latino news and events providing English and Spanish articles


Culturas Publication, Inc. d.b.a. La Prensa Newspaper

© Copyrighted by  Culturas Publication, Inc. 2005