Ohio & Michigan's Oldest and Largest Latino Newspaper

Since 1989




    media kit    ad rates    classified ad rates    about us    contact us


La Prensa Home

Upcoming Events

La Prensa Photos

La Prensa Links

LatinoMix Radio

La Prensa Scholarships

Directory of Latino Businesses and Services

La Prensa Obituaries

La Prensa Classifieds

Past La Prensa Stories

Submit a Letter to the Editor

La Liga de Las Americas

Sojourner’s Truth
co-publisher/editor honored by NOBMA


Last Friday, the Northwest Ohio Black Media Association (NOBMA) hosted its 12th Annual Impact Newsmaker Awards at the Genesis Dreamplex Hotel and Conference Center in Toledo.

Fletcher Word with Kristian Brown & Efrem Graham


Honorees included: Toledo City Councilman Michael Ashford, Rev. Robert Culp, Marshall Rose, TPD Officer Flo Wormely, and Fletcher Word co-publisher and editor of The Sojourner’s Truth, a 4-year-old weekly newspaper. Word was the Media Achievement Award winner, but he didn’t get the last word—Clyde Hughes did.


Groups winners were: ONYX (Organized Neighbors Yielding Excellence) and the Toledo Urban Federal Credit Union.


NOBMA’s 2006 Scholarship winners were: Kiylise Crutchfield of Bowling Green State University (Al Smith Scholarship), Torri Blanchard of Urbana University (William A. Browser Scholarship), and LaShara Morris of the University of Toledo (Art Edgerton UT Scholarship).


Kristian Brown and Efrem Graham of WTVG-Channel 13 were the emcees. Blade reporter Clyde Hughes is the president of NOBMA.






Web laprensa


«Tinta con sabor»     Ink with flavor!



Spanglish Weekly/Semanal

Your reliable source for current Latino news and events providing English and Spanish articles


Culturas Publication, Inc. d.b.a. La Prensa Newspaper

© Copyrighted by  Culturas Publication, Inc. 2005