Ohio & Michigan's Oldest and Largest Latino Newspaper

Since 1989




    media kit    ad rates    classified ad rates    about us    contact us


La Prensa Home

Upcoming Events

La Prensa Photos

La Prensa Links

LatinoMix Radio

La Prensa Scholarships

Directory of Latino Businesses and Services

La Prensa Obituaries

La Prensa Classifieds

Past La Prensa Stories

Submit a Letter to the Editor

La Liga de Las Americas


Finkbeiner wins big and returns to the mayor’s office for four more years


Toledo: The Lucas County Board of Elections was slow to post the election results from the Nov. 8, 2005 elections, with the final posting delayed by over 24 hours. By 11:30PM on Tuesday night, only 16 per cent of the precincts had reported. At that time, Democratic mayoral challenger and former 2-term mayor Carty Finkbeiner had garnered 72% of the vote over incumbent Jack Ford.


By 1:14AM, with 28 per cent of the vote tallied, Finkbeiner’s votes were 68 per cent of the total.


With the final posting, Finkbeiner had 47,873 votes (62.03%), versus Ford’s 29,301 (37.97%). These results are not the official results.


In other Toledo races, Joe Birmingham easily won a seat to Toledo Council District 6, garnering 37.08 per cent of the vote (with 4,198 votes).  This was the race that Lisa Canales-Flores had intended to run in but she was declared not qualified due to a petition’s snafu.


The top six vote-getters for Toledo Council-at-Large were: Phil Copeland (38,298 votes), Bob McCloskey (36,839), Mark Sobczak (35,241), George Sarantou (33,330), Betty Shultz (32,297), and Frank Szollosi (30,574).


Bob Vásquez was seventh (28,247), but only the top six are elected.

Incumbent Karyn McConnell Hancock failed to get re-elected (24,328 votes).


For the Toledo School Board, the top three vote getters were: Robert Torres (25,501), Darlene Fisher (25,020), and Steven C. Steel (21,848). Incumbent Steven T. Thomas was fourth (21,161) and, therefore, failed to get elected.


For Toledo Municipal Court Judge: Lourdes Santiago (30,135 votes) was defeated by incumbent Lynn Schaefer (33,571); incumbent Tim Kuhlman (33,571) defeated Paula Hicks-Hudson (30,672); and incumbent Robert Christiansen (26,452) defeated Sam Nugent (22,921) and Dan Pilrose (13,813).  


Issue 37 (Proposed Renewal 2.5 Mills Tax for the Toledo City School District General Permanent Improvements) easily passed.


The Mayoral Races

In the Toledo mayoral race, both candidates were Democrats, with incumbent Ford losing by almost 2 to 1. This pattern repeated itself in Lansing, Cleveland, and St. Paul, where the incumbent Democrat was defeat ed by the Democratic challenger.


In Lansing, incumbent Democratic mayor Tony Benavides (8,052 votes, 38.2%) lost to Democratic challenger Virg Bernero (12,925 votes, 61.3%).  Jonathan Solis (1,703 votes) lost to Sandy Allen (3,160 votes) for Lansing Council, 2nd Ward.


In Cleveland, incumbent Democratic mayor Jane Campbell (43,951 votes, 45.26%) lost to Democratic challenger Frank Jackson (53,159, 54.74%). In the City Council Ward 14 race, Joe Santiago (1,460 votes, 51.88%) defeated incumbent Nelson Cintron, Jr. (1,354 votes, 48.12%).


In Detroit, in a cliffhanger, Democratic incumbent Kwame Kilpatrick came from behind to defeat Democratic challenger Freman Hendrix, leading 53 per cent to 47 per cent.


Issue 24 is defeated in Lorain,
Issues 6 and 7 easily pass
Lorain: Issue 24 (Wal-Mart Zoning Referendum) was soundly defeated, 8,383 to 5,813.
Countywide, Issue 6 (MetroPark) and Issue 7 (Children Services) easily passed.
In the Lorain Municipal Council-at-Large races, Anthony M. Krasienko led the pack of five, followed by Kathy L. Tavenner and Daniel W. Given.
In the 8th Ward of
Lorain Council, 8th Ward, Craig Snodgrass won by over 2 to 1 against challenger Spring Zieba-Frey.
David Escobar
was unopposed in Ward 3. 
For the Lorain City School Board, Raul Ramos was second best in total votes (4,722), behind Carl R. Cicerrella (6,114).


Ohio State Issues 2, 3, 4, and 5 were soundly defeated.




Lorain Election





Web laprensa


«Tinta         con sabor»      Ink with flavor!



Spanglish Weekly/Semanal

Your reliable source for current Latino news and events providing English and Spanish articles


Culturas Publication, Inc. d.b.a. La Prensa Newspaper

© Copyrighted by  Culturas Publication, Inc. 2005