Ohio & Michigan's Oldest and Largest Latino Newspaper

Since 1989




    media kit    ad rates    classified ad rates    about us    contact us



Upcoming Events



LatinoMix Radio


Directory of Latino Businesses and Services

Sister Paper


Adelante’s Amigo Award

As part of this year’s Chávez Awards banquet on March 31, Adelante, Inc. will present its Amigo Award, which is presented to an individual, corporation, agency and/or organization instrumental to Adelante’s overall success. The Award recipient has provided leadership, support, and encouragement to the Adelante’s Board of Directors, management, and staff.

Sue Campos and Dolores Rodriguez

This year’s nominees are: Chief Michael Navarre &  Lt. Ronald Navarro, City of Toledo Police Department.  Also, Jay Salvage, former executive director Lucas County Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services Board (ADAS), Audrey Weiss-Maag, of Service Development Specialist United Way of Greater Toledo, and the late state representative John García. All have been instrumental to the success of Adelante as per its executive director, Sonia Troche.


Jesús García to entertain

Entertainment on March 31 at the University of Toledo Student Union includes: Jesús García, executive director of La Villita “ Mexican Village ” in Chicago ’s West side.  Garcia is a life long community activist who served in the Illinois State Senate.  He leads Little Village is a thriving commercial area in Chicago ’s West Side with more than 1,000 businesses that offer a vast array of goods and services. It is also home to the largest Mexican community in the Midwest , a fact reflected by the many unique Mexican specialty products available from merchants in the area.


César E. Chávez Humanitarian Award Nominees

The César E. Chávez Humanitarian Award is presented by Adelante, Inc. and LSU to an individual who has given of himself/herself unselfishly to ensure that our Latino children, youth, families, and community have equal access to services, education, and economic opportunities. This year nominees are: María Sue Campos, Margarita De León, Alberto Flores, Greg Gúzman, Nellie Mattox, Amelia Nava, and Lucy Amparo Weaver. According to Adelante’s executive director, Sonia Troche, the Award recipient will be announced at the banquet at UT on March 31.


Dolores Rodríguez was the 2003 recipient, as shown in the photo with nominee Sue Campos.








«Tinta con sabor»      Ink with flavor!



Spanglish Weekly/Semanal

Your reliable source for current Latino news and events providing English and Spanish articles


Culturas Publication, Inc. d.b.a. La Prensa Newspaper

© Copyrighted by  Culturas Publication, Inc. 2005